Letter to my son (5/17/2017)

Son,

This is the first of many letters that I will be writing to you. I don’t know when you’ll be able to read it because you’re not even here yet. Your mom and I are ecstatic about your arrival which is only a few weeks away. Who knows, you might share the same birthday as your mom; just like how your grandmother and great-grandmother shared the same birthday.

It’s been a crazy but wonderful 8 months. We found out about you on October 22, it was a Saturday and I was in the middle of MBA class. I swear, when your mom sent me the photo of the pregnancy test, I wanted to jump and shout with joy. I was that excited to have you, and knowing that you were there already was pure happiness for me.

P_20161022_155936_HDR

There were so many firsts for us as expecting parents. The first time we heard your heartbeat, I wanted to cry right then and there but your mom beat me to it. I let her have that moment because she was carrying you already, and I know that I’ll have more opportunities to cry about the things you will soon accomplish.

That very first ultrasound when we actually got to see you, that really put things in perspective for us. We were going to be parents, so we had to plan things carefully for your arrival and for your future. All our decisions we would make are for your benefit, because we actually stopped spending for ourselves and started investing for you.

P_20161223_124555

When we got the Congenital Anomaly scan done, we finally got see your beautiful face despite the fact that you were so shy.  That was also when found out about your gender, baby boy. I have to admit, we didn’t have a name for you at the time but now we do and we love it.

P_20170307_204957_HDR (1)

Fast forward to now, and all we’re doing is getting everything ready for you. You have your own room in the house, and we still lack a few things to be fully ready. Don’t worry, we’re asking from all your Titos, Titas, Ninongs, Ninangs, Lolos, and Lolas. Yes, you are going to be spoiled by the family.

Anyway, the countdown has started to your arrival and we all can’t wait. But please take your time, your mom and I want you as healthy as possible.We are so excited to have you here already. See you soon, Aiden.  We love you so much.

Lots of love,

DAD

Leave a Reply

